I initially contacted Eranthe Law because of the positive reviews here on yelp. Cate responded to my inquiry on the website right away and gave me honest advice about my legal situation. Her competence and professionalism came through right away. Bankruptcy ended up being the right choice for me so naturally I hired Cate. I’m truly thankful I did! She jumped into action to help me file on a very tight deadline (mere weeks).

The online portal she uses allows for easy upload of documents and communications, which you’ll do a lot of! Cate was there for any questions or concerns no matter how small. I had my own shame but Cate never judged or belittled me. I was also super anxious throughout but Cate was there as a calming presence. She’s got the patience of a saint. Because she knew I was honest and forthcoming there was nothing to worry about! You will be expected to provide above and beyond the required documents. Cate makes sure there are no questions left to be asked. It was a lot of homework but very worth it. If you end up in the difficult situation of Bankruptcy I would highly recommend engaging Cate of Eranthe Law! Rachel B., Richmond, CA — January 25, 2021

Eranthe Law Firm is the best representation I could have hoped for. Cate is extremely knowledgeable, professional, compassionate, understanding and very trustworthy. I feel blessed for her dedication and support. She answered all my questions patiently and in terms I could understand while being highly attentive to my needs. Cate worked with me during the COVID-19 pandemic; we have never met in person but she got the job done! I am very grateful for the way she represented me and helped me get back on track. I highly recommend Cate!

Thank you Eranthe Law Firm! Veronica A., San Rafael, CA — December 22, 2020

I feel so fortunate to have found Cate. Filing bankruptcy is overwhelming and intimidating, which is why I didn’t do it sooner. After working with Cate, my only regret IS not doing it sooner. She is kind and patient and so organized. She walked me through the whole process seamlessly and is a true professional. Her costs were surprisingly affordable and ultimately WELL worth it as my debt has been eliminated. What an amazing thing to be able to say! I highly recommend Cate and I’m more than happy to chat with anyone who wants a personal reference or would like to ask any questions. Ask Cate for my info. All the best on your journey to find a bankruptcy attorney, I can’t imagine there is anyone out there better than Cate. Tanya W., San Rafael, CA — November 5, 2020

I found Cate Eranthe on Yelp and the reviews were spot on. She was everything they said she would be – prompt, affordable, asked detailed questions, reviewed extra documents that might affect my case, patient when I asked clarifying questions again and again, and prepped me for my hearing. The process was quick and efficient and has given me my financial freedom back. I highly recommend Eranthe Law. Thank you Cate!!!Judy S., Novato, CA — October 29, 2020

I intially wrote a 1 star review but that was an error, someone calling me misrepresented himself as a part of her firm and once I was able to connect with Cate, realized quickly why I was initially referred to her by a colleague. As I’ve now had 1 conversation and several email exchanges with Cate, I am extremely reassured by her informative, professional and very caring approach to the situaiton we are in. She’s gone above and beyone in her follow up and we’re looking forward to working with Cate and her office. I am so glad she did a personal follow up call with us and that we were able to clear up any initial disconnects. She’s quite simply amazing.Tom Y., San Rafael, CA — September 18, 2020

I recommend Cate Eranthe for anyone considering who to hire as their bankruptcy attorney. She is very professional, diligent and walks you through the process with minimum stress. She is also kind and down to earth. I’m very happy to have had her as my attorney and we got through it with less stress as possible. Tracey G., Novato, CA — August 6, 2020

I am a real estate attorney. Whenever I have a clients with a bankruptcy issue, I refer them to Cate. She is my “go to” expert and the clients I refer to her always have great things to say about her. Cate is smart, responsive and reasonable. I give her my highest recommendation. Jeff L., San Rafael, CA — June 17, 2020

Great legal expertise when you need it. Catherine is an exceptional attorney to deal with and very attuned to her clients. I found her to be calm, professional and always offered sound advise for my legal needs. She provided great service, answered all questions clearly and walked me through the process with both expertise and humanity. J. W., Mill Valley, CA – June 17, 2020

Catherine Eranthe managed a challenging problem effectively. Catherine Eranthe demonstrated a deep knowledge of the subject matter of my problem. Cate communicated clearly to me in writing and verbally. Cate responded to my inquiries very promptly. She was empathetic to my situation, sensitive to my concerns and patient. A. L., San Rafael, CA – June 17, 2020

When I decided that declaring bankruptcy was probably the only option for me, I interviewed several attorneys. Cate Eranthe not only got back to me right away, but she was very forthcoming with information even during the free consult, and discussed the bankruptcy in a way that made me feel much more comfortable with a difficult decision. I’m so glad I chose her!

Throughout the process she was patient, knowledgeable, efficient, and her kindness and empathy helped me to stay calm in what was a very stressful situation. This was something I never imagined I would have to deal with, but she helped me to get through it while minimizing my feelings of shame (something I think most of us having to declare bankruptcy experience), and has given me hope for regaining my financial standing in the future.Lisa A., Novato, CA – December 13, 2019

Ms. Eranthe is a professional, caring advocate. She communicates quickly and efficiently and pays close attention to details. She also has a strong presence in the community. I highly recommend her services.Chris M., San Rafael, CA – October 25, 2019

I highly recommend Eranthe Law Firm. The Law Firm handled the initial filing for my Chapter 7 Bankruptcy, all the complicated issues not foreseen in the case, on through the Final Discharge, and attempts by aggressive debtors to collect after the Final Discharge with efficiency, competency, and for a reasonable fee. I am fully protected from future claims of ignorant and aggressive debtors because Eranthe Law Firm knows and practices the law.

No one wants problems with a bankruptcy years after the Final Discharge. Even five years after the Final Discharge, I from time to time need information from the bankruptcy which Eranthe Law Firm has always freely and efficiently provided. If you want a top notch Law Firm that does not charge exorbitant prices, call Eranthe Law Firm. Betty S., Woodacre, CA – September 12, 2019

I just received my notice of my case being closed last week. You have no idea the stress I went through. I have no idea what I was going to do without Catherine. I was going through a very rough patch in my life I was confused and stressed out. I was trying to file on my own but I had no idea where to start. After reaching out to multiple lawyers I finally spoke to Catherine and I knew instantly she would be the one representing me because of her knowledge and response time. Catherine is very diligent in the work she does. She explained EVERYTHING and walked me through every step of the way. She has certainly made a huge positive impact in my life and I strongly recommend her to anyone going through this. Thank you Catherine! Ramon R., San Rafael, CA – August 14, 2019

Going through bankruptcy wasn’t anything I ever expected to have to do. However with a growing family, high cost of living and endless bills, it became our only option. Cate helped make the process easy and painless. She patiently answered all of our questions, was there to guide us along the way and worked with us to create the best strategy for our situation. We are so grateful to her for all of her help and truly feel like she helped us get our second chance. We highly recommend her. Vmkj E., San Rafael, CA – July 22, 2019

I feel so blessed to have gone through this difficult process with Cate Eranthe as my attorney. She is very well organised patient, and kind.  Beyond worth her reasonable fee. Five Stars!Tika M., San Francisco, CA — June 12, 2019

Cate Eranthe has been thoughtful, thorough, and comforting throughout a process and a life chapter that have been challenging and unexpected to say the least. — J Smith, Novato, CA – June 11, 2019

Cate is wonderful. She was very helpful with keeping me on track with my paperwork (no easy task) and letting me know that there was nothing to be ashamed about. She is very generous and kind.Sabrina F., San Rafael, CA – April 4, 2019

Cate was an amazing and I couldn’t have done this without her. She helped me stay on track with all the paperwork and was very kind. I highly recommend her. Sam F., San Rafael, CA — March 30, 2019

I knew I was in very good hands upon my first meeting with Cate Eranthe. Her professionalism and knowledge came through along with her sincere desire to help me through a very difficult time. I would recommend her services and feel very grateful to have had her represent me. — E Smith, San Rafael, CA – June 29, 2018

Cate is the BEST! When I made the decision to file bankruptcy, she was the first, and ONLY, attorney I contacted. She was beyond helpful, professional, and knowledgeable. She helped my spouse and I understand bankruptcy was not the end of the world. There was never a time that I could not reach out to her for counsel, or comfort regarding the process! I’d be happy to recommend her in a heartbeat! — T. F., Woodacre, CA – January 21, 2018

Cate was superb in helping me to file my Chapter 7 bankruptcy. My case wasn’t terribly complicated, but I needed somebody I could trust in this important process – giving it the full attention it deserved. Cate plays by the rules, and she knows her stuff. In just over 60 days, I’ve been discharged of my debts, and I’m finally able to start fresh. I walked into her office with a 516 FICO, and I’m already up to 665! Thanks, Cate – for staying after me to complete this game changer so thoroughly. Eranthe Law carries my recommendation without hesitation. — Jason F., Mill Valley, CA – February 5, 2017

Cate was easy to reach at every stage of the process. She answered my numerous questions clearly and comprehensively, and made sure I completed all the necessary steps to prosecute a clean case and let me move on with my life. Cate was a joy to work with. — Bryon S., San Rafael, CA – January 14, 2017

Facing my bankruptcy was an overwhelming task. I’m so glad I had Cate to guide me through it. She was very professional and competent. She had answers to all my questions and she kept me updated on things as my case progressed. I appreciated how willing she was to communicate via phone or email. And she was patient and encouraging when I felt daunted. I’m so grateful to have my bankruptcy behind me, and I give Cate the credit. — Kristin E., Novato,CA – November 26, 2016

Cate made what is a very painful and difficult chapter in my families life not only bearable but she did so highly efficiently. So much so that our case was discharged in half the time we expected.
Highly Recommended. — Ralph S., San Rafael, CA – November 1, 2016

Cate did a wonderful job handling my case from a junk debt buyer that I had been handling on my own for several months, and I couldn’t have asked for a better outcome. I found her incredibly efficient and straightforward, in addition to being empathetic to my needs. She took an very stressful situation for me, and in a matter of a few weeks, made it feel like it never happened. She took the time to go over all my options and carefully outlined the pros and cons of each. I highly recommend her! — Yvonne S., Greenbrae, CA – April 1, 2016

This is great news! I so greatly appreciated all of your patience and efforts to see this through. My life is so much better now. I’m doing well in my business and learned a lot from the past. I will forever be grateful to you. — Jake G., Mill Valley, CA – February 18, 2016

Because of the type of debts I had incurred, I needed to file a Chapter 13 bankruptcy instead of a Chapter 7, which is what most people file. And for reasons that are too complicated to go into here, I needed to file quickly. I spoke to one lawyer who didn’t even know that I needed to file a Chapter 13. The second lawyer I spoke with, after hearing about my situation, decided that my case was too difficult for him to handle.

Then I spoke to Cate. She spent a lot of time listening to me explain my situation and answering all my questions — and I must admit I had a lot of them. It turns out that a Chapter 13 is a lot more complicated than a Chapter 7, and it requires considerably more time and effort by both the debtor (that would be me) and the lawyer (that would be Cate).

It was obvious that Cate knew all the ins-and-out and myriad technicalities of Chapter 13 bankruptcy law. She made sure I got her all the necessary financial documents, was very prompt in responding to any questions I had along the way, and got all the paperwork filed by my very tight deadline.  I just got word that my Chapter 13 payment plan has been approved by the court. I couldn’t have done it without Cate, and I’m delighted I had her handle my case. — Don R., Sausalito, CA – December 20, 2015

I found Cate online when I was going through one of the most difficult times in my life. My construction business had sustained huge losses and as a result all of my debts were too much to pay off. Cate was incredibly understanding, epathetic, kind, and informative of all of my options and helped guide me through each step of the Capt 7 process. She also listened carefully to me and my concerns and we created a plan together.

Through the entire process, Cate was always available and responsive. In addition she was very patient with my and worked hard to get my case approved. My debts were discharged a few month’s ago and now I have a clean slate and new opportunity to succeed. I will forever be grateful to Cate as I truly believe that I could not have had a better attorney to help me through this difficult process. I would highly recommend Cate to anyone else who seeks the best possible representation. — A.C., Novato, CA – June 4, 2015

Let’s face it….bankruptcy does not feel good to think about let alone having to go through it….. That’s the worst of it….Cate Eranthe took the pain out of all of it! When I asked why she chose to specialize in bankruptcy law, part of her answer was that it gave people a fresh start. That is exactly what I felt…upon meeting her. She is ‘userfriendly’, always patient and extremely professional.

Cate kept up on all that was happening with my case, gently reminded me of things I needed to do and was fun to work with. What more could I ask for….professional, delightful and has, indeed, allowed me to have a fresh start. I feel that! — J.W., Emeryville, CA – June 4, 2015

Cate was extremely thorough in the preparation phase of my case and as a result, once filed, the result was a seamless and swift discharge. I felt Cate was aware of the emotions involved and at the same time was tireless and focused in the factual gathering crucial to a successful conclusion. There were glitches and hitches that arose in my case and she was right there to guide me through and, at times, with a great sense of humor always where appropriate. Cate is a consummate professional setting her apart and above and in addition…SHE CARES. I happily refer her to my friends and family. — Marcia, San Rafael, CA, – February 6, 2015

Cate Eranthe is by far one of the most professional, efficient, kind, ethical, and knowledgeable attorneys I have ever worked with. Cate is assisting me with a Chapter 7, while simultaneously I’m going through a divorce, and Cate was able to file my case in 20 days from my first meeting with her. We still have to attend the creditors’ hearing, but the bulk of the work was almost too painless. I recommend that you talk with Cate before or after talking with other attorneys. Just do as she says and she will get you there. She can be the calm in your life’s storm. — Richard P., San Rafael, CA – December 3, 2014

When you have to go through a painful process like bankruptcy, it’s best to have someone working with you who knows the process well, and Catherine Eranthe is the person you want as your guide and professional ally. She clearly understands a client’s concerns and circumstances, and she gave me all of the information I needed to confidently go through the process. She was always available for questions and her significant experience and personal character make her a pleasure to work with. I highly recommend Catherine Eranthe. Thank you, Cate! — Patty C., San Anselmo, CA – November 18, 2014

I gladly recommend Cate Eranthe if you’re going through bankruptcy or considering it. We had a business that was severely impacted by the housing crisis, home underwater and had reached a point of no return. Bankruptcy was the fact. Ms. Eranthe was highly recommended by a mortgage counselor.

Cate is very knowledgeable, and was willing to answer all my many questions. She remained focused and patient throughout a process that definitely made me a little edgy. Her compassion and persistence were excellent. She has many qualities that are sterling- exactly what one needs in such a situation. Thank you,

Cate Eranthe, for helping us set a new stage and letting us experience a fresh beginning. Thank you for the excellent, professional, and caring support. Successful outcome was our result, thanks to her hard work and follow through. — Zola D., Manchester, CA – March 19, 2014

Thank you so much for helping me navigate this process. It was surprisingly painless. I will make sure to check my credit reports in two months and I will let you know if I run into any snags. — L.G., San Geronimo, CA – June 26, 2013

Both my father/mother and I want to pass along our thanks for working on the Bank of America resolution and more with stipulation/agreement to have Wells Fargo second equity line resolved in my parents favor. It has been such a long road for my parents, and the progress that is being made and comprehends their particular situation is indeed great news. My parents are starting to breath a sigh of relief.

Thank you so much for all of your efforts. Really, just great work!  D.C., Novato, CA – June 24, 2013

Whew, I’m so glad it went well yesterday. Thank you for the way you handled my case with being on top of everything that needed to be handled before we actually went before the Trustee . . . I was amazed and quite surprised that some lawyers had never met their clients in person. Some still had paperwork to sign, and the one lawyer that was ill without a replacement to represent his clients. That actually shocked me and I’m glad it turned out well for them.

Yesterday, I broke up with lack and stress. I hope everybody in that room did as well. — R.G., Sausalito, CA – October 18, 2012

Again I want to thank you for all of your help in getting my bankruptcy case taken care of. I did tell my friend . . . about your work and I think she will be contacting you. Good Luck in your new office. — I.B., San Rafael, CA – May 14, 2012

Thank you so much for your help today. I feel a huge weight lifted off my shoulders! — A.L., Novato CA – May 4, 2012

Thanks for the good news. I appreciate it and your fighting for me. Now I can focus on getting back to living a more normal life, meaning hot water. — T.C., Novato, CA – April 24, 2013

I contacted 3 bankruptcy attorneys from the NACBA web site. Cate was the only one who was able to get back to me in a timely matter and move my case forward. Cate kept the process organized and professional. After going through this, I am glad I did not try to do this on my own. I would definitely recommend Cate to anyone seeking an attorney for bankruptcy. — M.R.L., Novato, CA – April 18, 2012

I would highly recommend using Cate Eranthe should you find yourself in the difficult position of having to deal with creditors and filing bankruptcy. Cate was there every step of the way, explaining options, helping with forms and data gathering…all the while a calming presence during a stressful time. From start to finish she was available, knowledgeable, and professional. No doubts; she is an exemplary attorney! — S.B., Sausalito, CA – February 18, 2012

Bankruptcy attorney Cate Eranthe helped me with several legal matters over the years including filing bankruptcy and an administrative hearing. The bankruptcy was a difficult decision I felt forced into by credit card debt. The banks wouldn’t work with me and rather than let them get a judgment I cut it off by filing the bankruptcy. Each time she succeeded in getting me desirable results. 

She was accessible and explained each step in terms that I could understand. Her calm, logical approach helped me deal with the stress of being in a “legal” situation. I highly recommend her! — Lynn, Fairfax, CA – November 13, 2011

My husband & I were struggling with the decision of bankruptcy for over a year. Anyone going through this can relate to the stress and toll it takes on your life. Our first meeting with Cate Eranthe could not have been a more pleasant experience. We were greeted with warmth & compassion. As soon as we sat down we were put at ease with her vast knowledge & ability to relate to our struggle and offer a solution. She quickly erased any fears or misgivings we had about filing for bankruptcy.

She took immediate action and stopped all collection phone calls. What a relief!!! Cate also negotiated our auto loan & not only reduced our interest rate, but reduced our principle balance as well! We were amazed at how smooth & Stress free the entire process was. Cate was truly a pleasure to work with & made an unfortunate situation much better so we can now move on with our lives. We would highly recommend Cate Eranthe to anyone who is thinking of filing for bankruptcy. — A.M.B., San Rafael, CA – October 14, 2011

The Eranthe Law Firm was a pleasure to work with. Cate Eranthe helped us make the best decisions under the circumstances. We appreciated her human and personal approach. — S.E.W., Sonoma, CA– September 12, 2011

Thank you for all your great help! I’m sleeping better since the creditors stopped contacting me and threatening me. –K.A.T., Santa Rosa, CA – August 29, 2011

Everything went very smoothly and I am very satisfied with the outcome. It was a pleasure working with Cate Eranthe. I feel so much relief. — C.C., Greenbrae, CA – June 9, 2011

Thank you so much for everything. You are an excellent professional with a lot of knowledge. I’m glad you helped me out and I have a LOT LESS stress. — M.S.C., San Rafael, CA – July 29, 2011

Cate Eranthe helped me out a lot. I have less stress and she did a SUPER job! — Matt, Larkspur, CA – July 11, 2011

Thank you for all of your help last week. I am so glad I didn’t try to file bankruptcy myself. You were great at the hearing. — S.C., San Anselmo, CA– March 22, 2011

I have known and worked with Catherine for over 20 years. She is diligent, loyal to her clients, and extremely competent. Catherine recently corrected an error in the credit bureau reports by writing a dispute letter that clearly illustrated the problem. She resolved this issue for a family member. I trust and recommend her. — Ellen K., San Rafael, CA – March 5, 2011

I met Catherine Eranthe at a bankruptcy seminar she taught for the County of Marin. I was there with a young “semi-English speaking” couple whom I care about and have been trying to help. Catherine offered a personal consultation to anyone in attendance. Because of the clients’ limited English and cluelessness regarding the basics of record keeping, I was in constant communication with Catherine and received a copy of all documents related to their case.

I so thoroughly enjoyed working with this very special lady that I shall miss her. Catherine Eranthe is sharp as a tack. She is also compassionate and keenly perceptive. And, she has the patience of Job, which was a necessity in this instance. I give her my unqualified recommendation! —
Ingrid W., Tiburon, CA – January 5, 2011

Thank you so much for everything. You are a wonderful attorney! — MC, Tiburon, CA – December 20, 2010

Thank you so very much for helping me through this troubling time. I’m glad I had you as my legal advocate! — Janet, Oakland, CA – January 3, 1988

Contact Us


    Bankruptcy eBook

    Guide to Eliminating Debt
    Through Bankruptcy for
    California Consumers.

    Download here.

    Facebook